Lakeview Terrace

5 02 2009

Hey everyone,

I hope some of you got a chance to see Surfer Dude, or at least thought about it. I know everyone is anticipating this week’s review, so here it is, Lakeview Terrace. 

I was anxiously waiting for this movie to hit the dvd shelves, and when it did I nabbed it and watched it last weekend. My excitement was quickly gone about 15 minutes into the movie. Needless to say the beginning of the movie is very slow and the story didn’t excite me like I was hoping.

The main actor Samuel L. Jackson played an overprotective father and neighbour. The movie is about a new couple starting their life in their very first home, and it just so happens they have Jackson as a next door neighbour. The story adds to Jackson’s character when we find out that he is also a long time LAPD officer with a bad attitude and questionable ethics. The new nieghbours played by Kerry Washington and Patrick Wilson, engage in regular daily activities, but anything that they do angers Jackson. The problem is not them, it is what they represent to Jackson. The movie is a back and forth of childish comments and actions, mostly by Jackson. Going into the movie I was expecting more suspense, drama and edge of your seat twists. Instead I got an almost 2 hour movie that basically didn’t go anywhere other than you realize why Jackson is so angry and vengeful by the end of the film. I don’t want to give the movie away incase some people are as excited as I was to see this movie. The ending is surprising and it’s the most action of the whole movie. 

I can’t say that any of the actors were exceptionally good, they played their roles and made a movie. Overall I would give this movie a 5/10.

I realize lately i’ve been rating sub-par movies, but trust me we will find a gem. 

till my next post, my recommendation this week is to watch a classic movie, I recommend Shindler’s List


Actions

Information

Leave a comment